Digital Story

Video

I have always wanted to be a teacher. I know that sounds like one of those cheesy stereotypical phrases said by everyone doing ITT, but it’s true. Despite occasionally imagining myself as a marine biologist, singer, doctor or fairy princess, I have always come back to teaching.

Starting a degree surrounded by other people similarly fueled by a desire to teach, meant that I pushed all the nerves and anxieties aside as I strived to achieve. Balancing assignments and professional practice whilst trying to maintain healthy relationships with my friends, family and girlfriend has proven difficult at times, but I can now proudly state that I have been successful. I have completed my first year at Edge Hill and although I know that we are still facing two tough and most likely stressful years I am confident that the techniques I have developed this year and the friendships I have made will help me through.

Despite its ups and downs, I have thoroughly enjoyed my time so far at Edge Hill, fending for myself in halls, learning how to make friends again, entering the world of academic writing and getting the train on my own for the first time. I am excited to continue to learn and grow as we all become outstanding Primary School teachers.

Leave a Reply

